Awards Program

The Douglas Mooers Award of Excellence

The Douglas Mooers Award of Excellence is the National Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies’ most coveted and prestigious award.  Named after NAILBA's Founding Chairman, H. Douglas Mooers, the Mooers Award was established in May of 1986.  This annual award honors excellence in brokerage and is bestowed upon the individual most committed to furthering brokerage and independent life brokerage as a distribution system. 

Nominees may include present or former NAILBA member principals, insurance industry executives, members of NAILBA peer groups or other insurance industry groups, and concerned members of the insurance press.  Nominees are dedicated insurance professionals with superior career accomplishments as well as outstanding records of service to the community.  Mooers Award recipients are this country’s peer-recognized leaders of brokerage.

Nomination materials are available here; however the deadline to nominate someone for this Award was August 14, 2015. The recipient will be honored at the Mooers Award Dinner at NAILBA 34, on THURSDAY, November 19. The Mooers Award Dinner is free to attend and open to all NAILBA 34 attendees, including members, guests, exhibitors and sponsors. The recipient will not be announced in advance.  The dinner is black tie optional - dark suits and cocktail dresses or evening gowns are acceptable.

Nomination materials for the 2016 Mooers Award will be posted in spring of 2016.

Questions? Call 703.383.3081.

Past Award Recipients

1986 - Seixas G. Milner
1987 - Bernard J. Kaplan
1988 - George T. Stewart
1989 - William S. Howard
1990 - Dr. Frederick R. Stearns
1991 - Michael M. Flynn
1992 - John A. Solomon
1993 - Mende M. Lerner
1994 - Burnett A. Halstead
1995 - E.R. “Gene” Mitchell 
1996 - Ronald Hagelman, Sr.
1997 - Ronald V. Dolan
1998 - David B. Lea, Jr.
1999 - Charles D. Rumbarger
2000 - James Toner
2001 - Patricia Joline
2002 - Irv Shaw
2003 - Donald W. “Butch” Britton
2004 - Bernard M. “Bud” Kirke
2005 - Edward Murray
2006 - Gene Wraith
2007 - Len Reynolds
2008 - George C. Van Dusen, III
2009 - David Lenaburg
2010 - Leslie "Les" Grubin
2011 - Col. J. William Felton, III
2012 - Ron Verzone
2013 - Jack Dewald
2014 - Arthur C. Jetter, Jr.